Pitch and roll measuring

All questions related to the configuration tool and groundstation

Moderator: lukasz

Pitch and roll measuring

Postby Gears » Fri Feb 22, 2013 1:17 pm

Gentlemen,

My name is Ruben. I'm a student in the Netherlands, tasked with the project of creating a sensor that can measure the pitch and roll angle of a driving motorcycle. I know that this forum is for UAV purposes, but I hope that the simularities are sufficient for me to ask my questions here. ;)

From my digging around some interesting websites I've come to understand the basic principle of getting accurate angle measurements out of a gyro + accelero combination (sensors an IMU has). Feed this information into a Kalman filter and voilá! As building your own ABS / wheelie control / etc systems on a motorcycle isn't exactly an often practised 'hobby', which is why I've come to these MAV sites as their goal is much the same.

The problem I'm having is that I have no experience at all at working with PCB's, interfacing with dataloggers and alike, or even actually implementing a Kalman filter. My only (limited) skills are working with Matlab and understanding the 'just' of most programming code. I am however a quick and eager learner.

Now I was wondering if any of you fine folk could perhaps help me on my way by giving me a guide to building a sensor from the point of ordering a Sparklefun 5DOF (or similiar sensor - cheaper is better) to having something working along the lines of this video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=pl ... WAFFZ7rPDc

I understand that this is a lot to ask, and much can probably be found in snippets of different posts, but finding the correct information is proving to be rather difficult.

A few technical details:
Range = +/- 60 degrees
Accuracy = 2 degrees or better
Functions under up to 2-3g of sideways force

TL;DR: