imu position and sampling rate

General discussions on the Gluon-project that don't fit elsewhere. If required, I will create more subforums.

Moderator: lukasz

imu position and sampling rate

Postby pizza » Wed Apr 07, 2010 4:12 pm

hi guys im still new to these sensors..
couldn't really find the basics on the internet...wanted to ask you how does position of accelerometer/gyroscope/combined on your system affect sensing capability? i just can't vsualize it. for example if you place them in the middle of your system or at the edge. what difference will there be? will angles still be accurate?

secondly, how does ADC sampling rate affect your data, pitch and roll? how do you decide a rate to obtain angles correctly?
does nyquist rate and aliasing matter?

thankssss :mrgreen:
pizza

Re: imu position and sampling rate

Postby Tom » Wed Apr 07, 2010 8:36 pm

Hi pizza,

(1) If you don't position your IMU in the center of gravity of your plane, a rotation of the plane around it's center of gravity (eg a roll from 0° to +45°) will cause an acceleration on your IMU (because it changes position compared to the earth, and position changes can only occur when it has a certain speed/speed change).

(2) A high sampling/processing rate is always better because
(a) quick updates means very small changes in angles which can better be threated as if they would be linear (cos(0.000001) ~ 1). Imagine you update only once a second. During that second, the plane pitches 90° and after that it rolls 45° (use your hand to visualise this :-) ). In this case, you receive the sensor readings, but you don't know whether it pitched first, or it rolled first. This means you can never make a correct estimate.