Soldering headers

Questions or remarks on the Gluonpilot-module? Put them here!

Moderator: lukasz

Soldering headers

Postby Daniel » Thu Mar 04, 2010 6:08 pm

Got the module a while ago, but I was busy, and then my soldering-iron(?) had somehow died since last time I used it. No biggie. Just that my other two, where deep in a mountain of accumulated junk in the shed. Finally caught a break from work and school, so I spent a few hours in the shed, and found ONE soldering-iron.

This is my first time soldering things like header on a PCB, so I should have done some practice first, but I'm an idiot who happens to be lucky too. The finished result wasn't too bad:

Image Image

I used some foam to stabilize the header I was soldering. But the real trick I learned was to put some solder on the side of the tip of the iron, and then hold new solder against the base of the pin, while heating the pin from the top with the soldering-iron by using the "wet" tip. "Wetting" the tip helped conduct the heat.

Once I got started, the soldering did not take long. It almost went without casualties too. Got some melted solder on the back of my thumb... where the skin is thin... while I was holding something, and couldn't let go for THREE seconds...

Album for more pictures: http://img96.imageshack.us/g/dscn2041o.jpg/
Daniel

Re: Soldering headers

Postby Tom » Sat Mar 06, 2010 11:35 am

Hi Daniel,

Glad to see you finally got some time to work on the module! :-)

Are you going to use PPM or PWM's to connect your RC-receiver to the module?
Tom
Site Admin

Postby Daniel » Sun Mar 07, 2010 5:06 pm

I haven't decided yet. I don't really know much about it. But if I understand it right; PWM is simply connecting all servo-outputs from the receiver, while PPM is connecting the module to the data-stream as it is received by the receiver? PPM seem to be a more elegant solution. Less wire, and more things for the Gluonpilot to do.